Skip to content

View Menu

About Our Preschool

Early Years Foundation Stage

The curriculum provided by Phoenix Under Fives is set out in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework.

This Framework is underpinned by four principles:

  1. A Unique Child – Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  2. Positive Relationships – Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.
  3. Learning and Development – Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.
  4. Enabling Environments – The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

This framework encompasses the Seven Areas of Learning and Development in which the Pre-School staff use as a guideline to monitor children’s progress, these are:

Prime Areas:

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  2. Physical Development
  3. Communication and Languages

Specific Areas:

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the World
  4. Expressive Arts and Design

Early Years

Phoenix Under Fives uses a mixture of Adult Led and Child Initiated play activities designed to allow all children to make progress in each area of Learning and Development. The progress of your child is recorded in their own online “learning journey” , which is available for parents to view – please ask a member of staff.